Food is not always something that you put in your mouth and eat!

As I watched the news this morning and heard the comments made by the so-called pundits, I realized that I’d heard nothing positive, good, happy, or just straight news.  The morning shows were quite a downer with lots of moaning and groaning as well as complaints.  I’m so ready to see and hear the end of the election and political mess, NO MORE!  It’s as if all have a glass that’s half empty rather than half full.  Gosh, does anyone have anything positive or nice to say?

Thanksgiving is upon us and it’s supposed to be a time of family and friends, sharing, caring, and joy.  It’s my favorite holiday and I’m truly thankful for all in my life.  I always say, “it could be a lot worse”.  If that thought doesn’t straighten up the doom-sayers, I’m at a loss to say what will.

I enjoy cooking Thanksgiving dinner with the scents of turkey roasting, stuffing being made, and scented candles throughout the house. Surrounded by family and friends is the best! I also enjoy eating the dinner, way too much, until I’m to the point of being stuffed.  I’m always thankful for the farmers and workers who made the food possible.  I do think about the cost of producing the food and I don’t mean the price of the food.

What do I mean?  I think that in today’s, day and age, most never think about where and how the food appeared on their dinner tables nor do they care.  It’s just there!  There are many “invisible people” along the way, finger prints on your food, if you will, that are never seen or thought about.

Producing food is hard work.  Starting on the farms where everything is grown or raised many don’t realize the efforts made toward their enjoyment.  The farmer has invested much time, energy, and care, not to mention cost, in bringing consumers the food that they eat.  Being a farmer myself, I still give thanks to my colleagues.  I know what’s been invested along the way of growing or raising food.  I also know the little thanks that are expressed to the farmer for the job that they do.  One of the most enjoyable things, to me, is when a customer says thank you for doing what you do.

Although I hate to contribute to the “downers list of wrong”, I must say that the first time that I was chatting with middle school kids during a presentation and asked “do you know where your food comes from” and I heard the answer “from the store” I was so disappointed.  Somewhere along the way, a disconnect to food has occurred.  Farmers have become the invisible thread in the fabric of society.

Many efforts are put forth in teaching our young about food however most of the teachings are about what food should or shouldn’t be part of the daily diet.  While there is nothing wrong with those teaching’s, it’s sad, at least to me, that our young don’t know the origins of the food they eat.  My thoughts about this are more than likely considered to be “old school” by many, but I think that appreciation of something that sustains daily growth, and life, should be identified and known.

This year as you sit down to Thanksgiving dinner, do yourself a favor.  Initiate conversation about the food on the table.  As each exclaims the “oh, this is so good”, over their favorites, talk about the origins of the food.  Pass down through the generations your knowledge about the food and teach the young one’s appreciation of what’s on their dinner plates.  For instance, do they know that a yam/sweet potato grows underground or that the grain that made the bread crumbs or cubes for stuffing grows above ground?  Give special thanks to the farmers because without them, no one would be enjoying Thanksgiving dinner.

I, for one, am looking forward to tomorrow.  Happy Thanksgiving everyone.  Enjoy!

Comments on: "Don’t Be a Downer, Give Thanks" (4)

  1. Mitchelle Stephenson said:

    Happy Thanksgiving Carole to you and your family! I’m personally thankful for your voice – an important one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. boxwood3684@comcast.net said:

    Thanks, Carole. I am really down myself this year, but we do have food. I hope you and your family, the horses, and all your animals are doing well. Sorry the volunteers didn’t work out. That is one reason, I’m not happy. There are very few reliable volunteers and we really need them. Happy Thanksgiving to all of you. Lorraine@Horse Lovers United Inc.Matching Horses&Humans410-749-3599

    Like

  3. How happy I am to have found you. I’ve wondered often how you are since I watched Food, Inc. I’m so very pleased and inspired that you’ve made the life you wanted and are working for good lives for all of our animals. I started raising my own chickens in part because of your part in that movie. And we have happy, healthy chickens and delicious eggs and meat that I know have better lives and are better for my family. Blessings and joy to you and yours!

    Like

  4. Well, a few months after the election, and still no improvement. Love your blog though, and your farm reinvention. Keep on keeping on 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

